Story Mode

Mortal Kombat 2011

Mortal Kombat's storyline is a re-telling of the first three games. It tells a narrative through various chapters, each one focusing on a particular character. Long time fans will see familiar story elements from the past games woven into the plot. While not a perfectly crafted story, the sheer scope and effort has to be admired. Fights are worked directly into the cutscenes meaning the flow of the story isn't interrupted.

These chapters are told in the following order:

  1. Johnny Cage
  2. Sonya Blade
  3. Scorpion
  4. Cyrax
  5. Liu Kang
  6. Jax
  7. Smoke
  8. Sub-Zero
  9. Kitana
  10. Jade
  11. Kung Lao
  12. Stryker
  13. Kabal
  14. Cyber Sub-Zero
  15. Nightwolf
  16. Raiden

The opening scene takes us back to the end-game events of Armageddon where Raiden is battling Shao Kahn atop the temple. 

Stay tuned as DMK gives you a in-depth look at Mortal Kombat's deep story-mode.